PDA

View Full Version : What's a good laptop to buy?

Nyleo
08-27-2010, 05:54 PM
So title says a lot. I'm going to be heading to the 11Th grade this fall, and I'm planning on buying a laptop since I'm sure I'll be at the library a lot researching ACT / SAT materials and whatnot.

I've worked this summer and manged to save a bit over $400. My parents said agreed to pay the remainder; I'm looking for one for research, can hold a good amount of music, movies, and picture, and is also for casual gaming. I also do a lot of software programming, such as Sony Vegas and Photo Shop. I was thinking of getting a Mac, but I've never had one and have always been a PC person.

Bulf
08-27-2010, 09:21 PM
I'm a computer noob, but I'd suggest going for something with 4+ gigs of ram, and 320+gb hdd. When it comes to brands and processors, I'm lost.

~*Red*~
08-28-2010, 01:28 AM
I have an Apple MacBook Pro and Macs are the best laptop I've seen.

Psyco_Panda
09-01-2010, 02:34 PM
For gaming, DO NOT GO WITH ALIENWERE not worth the trouble

Alphabet
09-01-2010, 03:22 PM
I say look through PCMag websites and whatnot. $400 isn't enough for a good laptop, but if you really need one for just school, get a netbook.(Though I hate their tinyness) Macs are not for gaming btw, so I don't suggest it. A good computer would be at least 800 or more. From what I looked up, an ASUS UL30A is really good and has long battery life.
As Ellipses said, 4GB RAM is good enough, you do not need anymore, and I suggest 500GB of memory, and you can buy external hard drives for more space.
I'm in 11th grade too! I have a school assigned netbook, Eee pc =/
ooshy ooshy ooshy

Hanamaru Kunikida
09-01-2010, 04:42 PM
I was going to suggest building a desktop but you said you need the laptop to do your homework. You can't go wrong with what Moko suggested.

blueangel06661
09-01-2010, 06:36 PM