PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation Request

javierjavier
02-15-2010, 10:48 PM
Hi! I'm really new to the world of anime. I've only watched two series in full, "Cowboy Bebop" and "Gunsword", though both of those have quickly became two of my favorite shows of all time. Here's a few things I like and a few things I don't care for

Enigmatic Male Lead Character
Drama though Generally Lighthearted
Realistic Animation style (Cowboy Bebop looks beautiful and has realism, as opposed to like... dragonball z, which looks very cartoony)
Episodic is okay, but character development, and central story is crucial

Things I don't care for:
Mecha (I don't hate it, but I don't want it to be the focus)
Magic
Sex (It can be part of a show, but again, I don't like it as the main focus)

So if anyone has any recommendations, that would be great! After watching these two shows, I could really see myself getting into anime. In the meantime I'm going to watch FLCL because I've heard a lot about it. If anyone has any questions that would help them make recommendations, I'll be very responsive! Thank you all!

P.S. I LOVE steampunk, so if there are any good steampunk animes, throw those out there too!

Gjallarhorn
02-15-2010, 10:56 PM

Things I don't care for:
Mecha (I don't hate it, but I don't want it to be the focus)

Space opera is almost synonymous with mecha. The two go hand-in-hand more often than not.

As far as space operas go, I'd recommend Captain Harlock (or Herlock).

If you liked Cowboy Bebop, you're almost guaranteed to like Outlaw Star.

Also, a shout out for the original Mobile Suit Gundam series (0079).

javierjavier
02-15-2010, 11:00 PM
I mean, mecha is okay, but I liked how in gunsword, the mecha wasn't the central focus. I've seen episodes of other mecha shows before where whole episodes are just giant mecha fights, and I'd like to avoid that for the most part, I'm more interested in characters

StabWound
02-16-2010, 12:05 AM