PDA

View Full Version : Need Assistance for Finding Dreams!

sadunkal
04-29-2009, 05:40 PM
Hi there everybody! :D

I'm new to this forum, I'm actually here to ask for some help. Although I saw many animes myself, I'm pretty sure that all of you have seen many more than I did. So please consider helping me with what I'll now ask you about:

I'm an animation/visual fx student who is about to graduate. I'm working on my thesis nowadays and it focuses on how dreams are represented in the world of art. It will also partly examine art forms like books, paintings, video games (e.g. Sanitarium (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanitarium_(videogame)), Psychonauts (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychonauts)) -maybe even music/sound- and regular movies related to dreams (e.g. Science of Sleep (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Science_of_Sleep), Dreams (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreams_(1990_film))), but the focus will be on animation in the end.

Although my education had more to do with 3D animation, 2D animation is also an important part of it. And as far as I can tell there are many more 2D animations which have something to do with dreams than there are 3D ones. Therefore I'm currently trying to find animes which have dream-like sequences in them, or are in any way related to dreaming, or any other surreal stuff.

"Paprika", as you might know, has tons of dream-scenes in it. "Spirited Away" was also similar if I remember correctly. "Ghost in the Shell 2" had an interesting hallucination part if I'm not mistaken. You get the idea... I'm also open to suggestions from anime series. I personally haven't seen that many but "FLCL" for example was more or less a surreal trip as a whole, in my opinion. So that kind of stuff would also be useful.