PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations

Millertron
05-13-2008, 06:08 PM
Hey guys, I'll start off by saying I'm a complete noob to the forums, so apologies in advance for posting in the wrong section if I have.

Basically, I'm new to Anime. I've seen a few popular ones such as Spirited Away, and was wondering if you guys could recommend me anything. I've picked up a few random ones off the shelves of the local video store, including Dead Leaves (which I absolutely loved) and a series of 'Colorful' (which I found hilarious). The girlfriend's introduced me to series such as Naruto and Saiyuki, but I wasn't into them so much. Based on that very limited list I was hoping you guys could light up a few recommendations to increase my small collection. I seem to most appreciate the generally obscure, random anime, which seems to be best enjoyed whilst intoxicated :P

Cheers guys, any help is much appreciated.

Ωmega
05-13-2008, 06:12 PM
Well, seeing as how I seem to have similar tastes, I would recommend:

Lovely Complex [comedy]
Ouran High School Host Club [comedy]
Excel Saga [comedy]
Noir [drama/action]
Howels Moving Castle*
Kiki's Delivery Service*
Princess Mononoke*
Naussica Valley of The Wind*

*= all done by the same creator who did Spirited Away. He makes fantastic movies.

Millertron
05-13-2008, 06:16 PM
Oh yeah, Ghost In The Shell, Howl's Moving Castle and Kiki's Delivery Service I've seen both of. Brilliant films. Thanks a lot. =]

serasvct
05-13-2008, 06:21 PM
If you enjoyed Dead Leaves, you might like Paprika.

I also second everything that MaruDashi recommended, particularly Noir, Ouran and Howls Moving Castle.

I also recommend:
Cowboy Bebop: a classic, must-see for animation, storyline and music.
Ghost in the Shell: cybernetic sci-fi

Millertron
05-13-2008, 06:50 PM
Yeah, Ghost In The Shell was brilliant. I can't really afford £30 for the Cowboy Bebop Series Boxed Set, do you think I'd be able to understand the movie if I hadn't watched the series?

Ωmega