PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here into martial arts?

Hideki Motosuwa.
01-04-2008, 11:23 PM
Anyone here into martial arts? I'm a former martial artist and would like to know if any one here does martial arts? What style do you do? Discuss it's effectiveness and flaws. And what are your thoughts on combat/fighting?

If anyone would like to know my martial arts history look below:

Wing Chun Kung-Fu-studied back in late '05. Sifu John Kaufman was my teacher. He has authentic Yip Man and Bruce Lee lineage! He is a 30+ years experienced master. He trained with Chu Shong Tin who is said to be 5 times better than Bruce Lee. I trained hard for a while and quit for several reasons. His name in chinese and kwoon is "Kwon Ka Man".

Shohei-Ryu Karate-Do(or Uechi-Ryu Karate-Do)-studied back in early '06(shortly after I quit Wing Chun). It was at the Okinawan Karate School. I studied it for about one and a quater year. I worked hard to learn how the japanese got so strong and I got strong as well! My weak physique turned int oa deadly fighting machine! I quit in May 2007 because of my job. I made it to Blue belt w/green stripe(in my style, blue w/green stripe is half way to black belt. One reason I quit was the fact that belts mean nothing to me, they are only good for decoration or holding your pants up! Karate and Wing Chun are completely different, but similar because of their roots in Shaolin Kung-Fu. I don't like forms or defending all the time, so yeah.

Vale-Tudo(combination of Brazillian Jui-Jitsu and Muay Thai)-In the middle of my karate training, the school had this style along with BJJ. So I decided to take it to amp the intensity and learn ground routines(because my strinking was excellent). I found out that my ground work was weak, but I learned to a decent level. I quit when I quit karate, so I never learned too much.

Well, I'll tell more about my MA history as soon as I see what others have to say!

Akihiko Yamamoto Hozagaki
01-04-2008, 11:29 PM