PDA

View Full Version : Writing a song

x-Thief
11-16-2007, 02:37 PM
Okay, well I've been learning Japanese on and off for a little while, and since I'm a song writer I thought it'd be neat to try and write a few verses of my songs in Japanese.

However, I'm not sure how correct I'm getting, since I only know basic sentence structure and I've been using an online dictionary.

Anyway, can someone correct me on any mistakes in this:

Crawl beneath my skin そして
私の心盗め
私を信愛しろ
貴方はきみの真理

which would be pronounced as (in romaji):

crawl beneath my skin soshite
atashi no kokoro nusume
atashi wo shin'aishiro
anata wa kimi no skin'ri

and mean:

crawl beneath my skin
and steal my heart
love and believe in me
you are my truth

Anyway, I don't know how close I got to that, I might be completely off, so I figured I'd find out how I was doing before I finished a song.

Ertai87
11-16-2007, 02:45 PM
1) "Anata" and "Kimi" both mean "you", so unless it's some kind of crazy mistranslation (and Japanese tends to do that so I wouldn't be at all surprised), I think the last line is either written or translated wrong.

2) "Truth", I believe, is "Shinjitsu" ("Shin'jitsu" if you really like the apostrophes)...I don't know what "shinri" is, it might be another translation (also I presume the "k" was a typo and you meant "h").

3) Unless you're using a verb form I haven't learned (or a use I haven't learned), the 3rd line should end in "shite", not "shiro", plus, again, unless it's a verb form I haven't learned, it should be "shirou", not "shiro", if you can actually use it that way.

Unknownymous
11-17-2007, 10:30 AM
信愛しろ sounds a little forced. The only reason I can make anything out of it is because of the kanji, and if you said "shinaishiro" to me in person, I'd first think of "new love white" (新愛白).

It would be more naturally written as 信じて愛して.