PDA

View Full Version : Original Fiction: Rain

Sonicdh
04-25-2007, 11:03 PM
Prologue:

"It was a rainy evening in Chicago."
Heh, that’s how most of my stories start. Corny I know, but can you blame me?

Coincidently, that’s how this one begins.

I was taking a little vacation from my life back home, so, given the endless
options of where to go, I chose Chicago.

What better a place for a Mystery Novelist?

Oh, By the way. I'm a writer. I can’t say I'm a really good one, But hey, I try. Most of my stories are about Jimmy Madison, a cunning detective who lives in downtown Chicago; Hence the rainy evening thing.

But enough about me, Lets get to the story.

Chapter 1

It was a rainy evening in Chicago.

I sat alone in a dark corner of the darkened Jazz bar, sipping my tea. I think the bar was called HJQ Jazz, if I remember correctly. Small candle lamps rested on each table, giving the lounge the perfect atmosphere to just sit back and relax; just to let yourself relax and drift in the sound of the live jazz band playing on the stage near the front of the bar.

But I was doing anything but relaxing. My fingers were dancing over the keys of my typewriter like air. Call me nostalgic, but somehow hearing the sound of the keys of my old Royale typewriter helps me concentrate; helps me focus on what I’m writing. But I was on a creative roll that night. It was unbelievable. The words in my head just flowed through my hands and right into the keys of the typewriter. Every keystroke was pure magic.

Suddenly, something caught my attention. The music had stopped.

A girl with dark brown hair and brown eyes walked onto the stage wearing long, white gloves and a simple red dress. Nothing fancy like sequins or anything like that; Low cut, reaching down to her ankles with a split on one side that started at the waist and going to the bottom, right where her black high heels started.