PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?

antagonist85
09-29-2015, 11:33 AM
Alright, so here it goes:
I have some experience as a screenwriter, but I have been channeling my inner-youth recently. I somehow believe it's possible with the popularity of manga/anime in North America that I can write one if I team up with the right artist for my project. Back in the 90's, I would've replied to this post with " LOL Good luck, you should move to Japan and try there."

Fun Fact :(That's also when I used to look up video-game programming classes, only to get pissed off when all that existed was in Arizona.)

It's 2015 and things have spread like crazy since then. We have manga in American comic-book stores and you can learn just about anything, anywhere. I've also noticed an American Paranormal-Romance author named Sherrilyn Kenyon has now adapted her Dark Hunter series into a manga. I never read them so I don't know how authentic they look/read. But, I believe that these are signs of opportunity.

So; that being said, I did a little research and came across very few manga publishers in NA. I've sent one email out, but no response. Do you think it's possible for an independent manga to get picked up and published through one of these NA manga distributors? And if it's successful, what's your take on the possibility of it becoming an anime.

Yes, my mind is distracted with all these crazy thoughts, but I take action. I'm pretty sure it's possible to get this done, but I just want the opinion of fellow otaku.

DeathBlade/13.666
09-29-2015, 01:16 PM
Is it possible? Yes. Probable? No. XD No offense but writer's are a dime a dozen and trying to get an artist to work with you is like pulling teeth, because either they suck, have an odd and not well-liked style, or they're good and expensive. Plus most artists don't have a lot of free time.