View Full Version : [TV Series] AKB0048

Ceris
07-06-2013, 04:03 PM
AKB0048
http://images.wikia.com/akboofourtyeight/images/5/57/Akb0048.1032.jpg

Type: TV Series, 2 Seasons of 13 episodes, 23min per episode
Genre: Music, Sci-Fi

Synopsis:
In the beginning of the 21st century, a world war breaks out over interplanetary travel tech. The environment is pretty much destroyed so mankind leaves Earth and starts Star Calender 00. Entertainment and songs become heavily regulated and eventually banned due to their power to move people, but a brave idol group puts on guerrilla performances in the name of a famous act from earlier times that sang to Earth's bitter end, AKB48. The illegal revival group's name is... AKB0048.

(Taken from AKB0048 Wiki)

Introduction:
Hello AF! AKB0048 is my favorite anime of all time, so I decided to write a review on it, but I'll try to keep it as unbiased as possible despite this. Also, this is my first time ever writing a review, for anything, including non-anime related stuff, so bare with me.

AKB0048 is an anime based on the real life J-Pop group called AKB48. The story will follow the 75th and 77th generation of trainees who aim to become members of the AKB0048 group.

Story/Plot:
On the surface, this is just a story where in the future, members of the real life AKB48 group go to different planets to "save the world." But if you dive deeper into this, in the far future, the government has become oppressive and controls our daily lives to the point where entertainment is regulated. The idols at AKB0048 act as the "spark" for revolts against this unfair government by performing and showing people there's something to fight for.