PDA

View Full Version : Do you believe in Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity?

Alice Lost
11-12-2012, 11:43 AM
I was responding to a topic on the forum called "A Perfect Crime. Is such a thing possable" and It made me think of this topic.

Do you believe in "Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity?"

IluvAllison
11-12-2012, 12:52 PM
Its an interesting question hmm... its hard to say. I think people have very different ideas on what exactly makes a man insane. Some people call a mass murderer insane. Im no expert but judging from what little I have seen I think there are some people who have a very warped sense of reality that would fit the part of not guilty by insanity. But man... its really hard to say cause I dont know enough about the psychological "diseases" that exist

DOOM!
11-12-2012, 04:39 PM
I can think of not/guilty for many reasons other than just insanity, like carelessness, short range of thought, anger outburst, rising libido, substance abuse, slow processing of information, stressful circumstances, extortion, deranged psyche, just to name a few. Whether or not those absolve you from being guilty is disputable, they are factors.

AshureeChan
11-12-2012, 06:06 PM
If the person is insane due to medication prescribed by a Doctor I think that makes it "less" their fault but they still chose to take the medication... this is really a complicated topic. I'm no good at debate (in fact I hate it lol)

CrimsonMoon
11-12-2012, 06:22 PM
Yes, I do. You can't help it if you're insane. But you'd still be considered 'dangerous'.

PhantomPhD
11-12-2012, 06:28 PM
I think insanity is a medical mental condition, regardless what it involves. It is debilitating to a person's quality of life and therefore can cause violent delusions and actions. A sane person has control over their mind and thoughts. An insane person does not.

Project D
11-12-2012, 09:21 PM