PDA

View Full Version : Anime Newbie Looking For a Political Anime?

Marshenheim
10-10-2012, 09:51 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm a relative newbie to anime and just finished watching Death Note. (Absolutely loved the mind-games element of it!) :)

After a bit of googling I got the impression that anime covers a vast range of genres, and discovered that there are literally thousands of series.

So, I decided I needed a bit of help tracking down an anime that I would enjoy.

The loves of my life are politics, economics and law. I was wondering if anyone on here would be able to recommend me a good anime that incorporates any of the following themes:

1. International relations (War, trade deals, etc. Anything like that)
2. A political election
3. A revolution
4. A legal anime (An anime centering around a trial, a court case or a lawyer? Something like the Phoenix Wright game?)

I'd appreciate any help you can give;

thanks in advance,

Marshenheim :)

Gjallarhorn
10-10-2012, 10:44 PM
It was never animated, but the Akumetsu manga is probably right up your alley. Giving too much of a summary will spoil a good amount of the beginning, but it's about a young man who uses terrorism and assassination to incite a political revolution in the midst of an election in order to "destroy all evil"; there's a very big twist here, but it's introduced early on, so it's best to read and find out. Most of the political figures shown are based on actually Japanese politicians from before and during the time the manga was published.