PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3



Saionji
08-08-2004, 05:04 AM
So yeah, I bought Doom 3 the other day for the PC and the graphics are insane. A good number of people won't even be able to enjoy this amazing game because of the requirements it needs to run at a respectable level. I'm running a P4 2.8 GHZ with 512 KB 400MHZ DDR RAM with an NVidia GForce FX 5700 256MB video card and I STILL get a bit of chop sometimes.

The amount of detail in this game is coma inducing. Not to mention that it's pretty frightening. It's incredible.

So, if you think your comp can handle this beast, seriously think about picking it up. If not, wait till it comes out for Xbox (though I doubt the Xbox can reproduce some of the graphical elements found in the PC version....my god, the real-time lighting effects...)

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-08-2004, 10:38 AM
Wha? Doom 3 is out? I really am behind the times.

Of course, I don't own a X-Box or a high end gaming PC, so it doesn't really matter for me... :(

Pakachu
08-08-2004, 11:56 AM
thats why i play at games at PC clubs!

MUWAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!

Regex
08-08-2004, 01:33 PM
The single player mode is really cool, and the graphics really are stunning. Sadly, the multiplayer mode isn't all that special though.

Teknoranger
08-09-2004, 03:33 AM
my computer took one look at doom 3 and went *MUNCH MUNCH*

seriously though the new generation of GFX cards due this game real justice (I use a Redeon X800 pro)

Eris
08-09-2004, 12:14 PM
Heh, can always do like NASA and build a 10240 CPU cluster.

10240 processors ought to be enough for anyone ;)

red storm
08-10-2004, 06:33 AM
That's the problem with developers these days, they all want graphics! more! better! and don't realize that most people still have a750 MZH, I mean, I can name 3 friends already! And I only have 1GHZ.

Pakachu
08-11-2004, 06:03 PM
i played it at a pc club lastnight.
holy crap that thing is a trip!!
graphics are reeeally nice.
and its actually pretty creapy.

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-11-2004, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by red [email protected] 10 2004, 06:33 AM
That's the problem with developers these days, they all want graphics! more! better! and don't realize that most people still have a750 MZH, I mean, I can name 3 friends already! And I only have 1GHZ.
Well you must not hang with the right crowd. I have 2.99 GHz, 512 MB ram, and a 128 MB video card and all my friends have much better systems.

Rem
08-11-2004, 08:46 PM
doom needing a really good grafixs card is surpriseing? i remember back whean the first doom came out no one i knew could run it. if you were like me you had to settel for wolfinstein 3-d which was awsome but no doom.

rayven
08-11-2004, 08:46 PM
How would I know... It'll probably run at about 1.5FPS on my machine since it doesn't like ATI cards so I'm not getting it. -painfully sits and waits for HL2, about the last game that will run well on a Radeon 9800 series card-

red storm
08-12-2004, 01:13 PM
Originally posted by Manhatten_Project_2000+Aug 11 2004, 09:30 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Manhatten_Project_2000 @ Aug 11 2004, 09:30 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-red [email protected] 10 2004, 06:33 AM
That&#39;s the problem with developers these days, they all want graphics&#33; more&#33; better&#33; and don&#39;t realize that most people still have a750 MZH, I mean, I can name 3 friends already&#33; And I only have 1GHZ.
Well you must not hang with the right crowd. I have 2.99 GHz, 512 MB ram, and a 128 MB video card and all my friends have much better systems. [/b][/quote]
Wich only means that you have rich friends that can afoord that stuff

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-12-2004, 01:49 PM
Actually, they&#39;re pretty poor. They just 1) Have jobs. 2) Shop Around and 3) Build Their own PC&#39;s.

red storm
08-12-2004, 01:54 PM
Ah... that explains a lot, I have a cousin who does that.

Pakachu
08-12-2004, 06:11 PM
<- 1 little complaint

y the hell is everyone in that game shiney?&#33;

ok, that is all

Rem
08-12-2004, 10:46 PM
their shiney because the grafics engine is light sensitive meaning id their loght in a derection their will be a shine or shadow on the character models. btw what system did doom 2 come out from?

Zedekiah
08-14-2004, 05:47 PM
DOS?

Rem
08-14-2004, 09:39 PM
dos? what does that mean?

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-14-2004, 10:20 PM
Disk
Operating
System

Its what everyone used before Windows 95 (except for OS&#39;s from people like Apple). Its got about a billion different versions, and only computerphiles like PikuNe can actually bother to use it anymore. My brain Explodes just from using DOSBox. :wacko:

Zedekiah
08-14-2004, 10:27 PM
DOS si t3h win&#33; Everyone with some basic comp lit. would be able to use dos.. I was like 6 when I was using it hardcore :wub:

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-14-2004, 10:47 PM
I could do some basic stuff. Play a game or two, scandisk, bring up Dosshell, that sort of thing. But mostly, DOS was big, scary and evil. Rarely did I wander from Windows 3.11. :unsure:

Rem
08-14-2004, 11:54 PM
sounds retarded plus no one told me what system doom 2 came out for. and mp2000 yeah i know i have to change that blurb on my sig.

Eris
08-15-2004, 10:39 AM
My Athlon Xp has rendered 2 frames of Doom 3. It has taken roughly a week x.x; Will probably build a better machine this winter though =)

Doom2 was for DOS (Early PC), It uses the same engine as Doom so you can pretty much run it on anything newer then a 386 with 4 mb ram. Doom ran fluently on my old 486 SX, 33 MHz, 16 Mb ram.


I could do some basic stuff. Play a game or two, scandisk, bring up Dosshell, that sort of thing. But mostly, DOS was big, scary and evil. Rarely did I wander from Windows 3.11.

What dimension are you from again? I used DOS more then windows when i was like 10. Windows 3.11 scared me though.

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-15-2004, 11:15 AM
Admitingly 3.11 sucked. I was like 7. After playing a game of SkiFree I would go off to watch TMNT. 7 year olds don&#39;t have refined tastes. Now, Windows 95, that just kicked donkey, pure and simple.

Eris
08-15-2004, 11:43 AM
I ran windows 95 on a 486 SX. It did not kick anything. Atleast not for the first 45 mintues of booting.

Rem
08-15-2004, 05:02 PM
it was good at the time and it still is metter than me. also i think doom 2 came out on the n64 or was it quake? cant remamber

Eris
08-15-2004, 05:49 PM
You could play doom on snes, so i doubt there was a n64 version. I mean, it would be pretty dumb to first port the engine to snes, and then to n64.

Rem
08-15-2004, 06:03 PM
no i mean doom 2 i think it was on the n64. but i do remember the snes doom and its bright red cart. i also remember it sucked and the slow down made it un playable.

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-15-2004, 06:12 PM
Here’s a list I parphrased from Ledmeister’s Comparison guide on Gamefaqs.com

(Doom 2 was pretty much the same game as Doom, and I don’t think all the games named “Doom” contain only Doom maps.)

3DO - Doom
Atari Jaguar - Doom
PC and Mac - Doom/Doom 2
Nintendo 64 - Doom 64
Nintendo Game Boy Advance - Doom/Doom 2
Sega Genesis 32X - Doom
Sega Saturn - Doom
Sony PlayStation - Doom
Super Nintendo - Doom

I had a 486 too. It didn&#39;t take too much longer to load 95 when compared to 3.11.

Daenerys
08-15-2004, 06:16 PM
Doom three kicks. I played it for an hour a few days ago.

Eris
08-16-2004, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by [email protected] 16 2004, 05:12 AM
Here’s a list I parphrased from Ledmeister’s Comparison guide on Gamefaqs.com

(Doom 2 was pretty much the same game as Doom, and I don’t think all the games named “Doom” contain only Doom maps.)

3DO - Doom
Atari Jaguar - Doom
PC and Mac - Doom/Doom 2
Nintendo 64 - Doom 64
Nintendo Game Boy Advance - Doom/Doom 2
Sega Genesis 32X - Doom
Sega Saturn - Doom
Sony PlayStation - Doom
Super Nintendo - Doom

I had a 486 too. It didn&#39;t take too much longer to load 95 when compared to 3.11.
Hey&#33; Doom 2 had a double barreled shotgun. That&#39;s a very important difference =P

You must have had a 486 DX.
<-- had a crapy SX

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-16-2004, 01:35 PM
I forget which I had. I could find out, but its 1400 miles away in the hands of my computer illiterate cousin. Last I knew it was running Windows 98. :blink:

Rem
08-16-2004, 02:05 PM
did any one every play the doom on the snes? what i wanted to know is why did they think the snes could handel doom? it cant use scaleing or rotation effects and most of the games had slow down and pop out any way. so they managed to make one of the best games ever the worst game for the snes.

Manhattan_Project_2000
08-16-2004, 02:38 PM
Well, I played it on ZSNES. Not exactly the same thing.

The selling point of the SNES was that, unlike the Genesis, it could handle scaling and rotation (Along with better graphics and sound). However, SNES contains a processor that is REDICULUOSLY SLOW. It was a meager 3.6MHz, compared to the Genesis’s 7.8MHz, or Playstation’s 33MHz. So it was too slow to handle the (then) impressive graphics of Doom.

Rem
08-16-2004, 03:06 PM
yeah i have to say tho the 32X doom was inpresive at the time.